Hello world!

Hi everyone!

Thanks for taking a minute to stop by my blog. I’ve always wanted to provide my friends, family, and clients with valuable information they can use while living in, planning to sell, or preparing to buy the American Dream, a home.

We all have life long goals and a huge one for me was always home-ownership. Even when I was a little girl, I had plans for how I would save for my future home, how I would decorate it, how I would use it to entertain my friends, and what kind of family I would raise inside it.

Come senior year in high school, living in Salem, Oregon and attending Sprague, I decided it was time to dip my toes in the water and test out the industry. I got a job as an advertising assistant for two amazing realtors who were experts in the area and had years of experience behind them. I worked for Rick and Ande Hofmann at RE/MAX equity group two days a week and my primary job was cutting and pasting advertisements of listings and sending them to clients to let them know how we were marketing the homes.

It wasn’t rare that my job would take much longer than needed because I would get caught up reading ALL of the verbiage on pages of property advertisements. When I say all of the verbiage, I mean all of it. I would open at page one and read about every single property until I made it to the end of the Homes & Land magazine. It quickly showed me that my interest was not a light concept, I really, truly wanted to know more about Real Estate.

After about a year of helping with the ads, Ande assigned me a few new jobs. Eventually I was learning more and more about what happens behind the scenes for Real Estate Agents. I would help prepare Comparative Market Analysis reports to show potential sellers what value they might get, I would help close out files and prepare thank you notes for cooperating agents, helped plan events, organized a roster of listing information to have it readily available at all times, marketed homes, and was there to provide overall support to Ande on her busiest of days, helping with anything and everything I was able to do.

While working with Rick & Ande at RE/MAX in Salem I was also attending community college for a degree in business. Eventually my time came and I had to transfer to Portland State. I fought the idea of leaving for about a year because of how much I loved my job, but eventually school got the best of me and my time was running short. I had to get a job in Portland so I could remove the couple hour commute from my routine and move forward with my life in Portland. I interviewed with several agents and ended up accepting a position as an Office Manager for Karoline and Wick Ashley at RE/MAX equity group in NE Portland.

We are now the Ashley Realty Works team. I am a licensed broker, office manager, listing coordinator, and transaction coordinator for our team and I’ve been with the Ashleys for 3 years. We added a buyer’s assistant, Jess Priest, and we now feel like a family- helping each other as much as we can, leading each other on, and constantly growing and improving together. I’m working on my 9th year in the industry and I wont be going away any time soon!

The team! Pictured left to right: Jess, Wick, Karoline, Stephanie
The team! Pictured left to right: Jess, Wick,     Karoline, Stephanie

Half of my heart is in Salem, my hometown, and half of my heart is here in Portland. The purpose of this blog? To be able to provide valuable information and fun real estate tid-bits to the ones who are anywhere in between!

Thanks for following along! 

-Stephanie Fox

Licensed broker in the state of Oregon

Leave a Reply

